I

More learnings from the book Creating Fiction!  I typically hate the first person perspective, because it’s all about me, me, me before establishing that me is someone worth listening to.  But I discovered in my writing class that a good deal of people actually like the first person — who knew? 

However, it’s not too late for me.  I also read that the best first person stories emphasize the narrator’s observation of others, and you only learn about the “I” indirectly.  For example, Sally might describe how her son always complains about her hairstyle.  We learn that Sally has bad hair, or her son is overly critical.  I’m intrigued by the idea that you might read a whole story or book without ever really knowing the “I” who wrote it. 

Leave a comment

Filed under Fiction, Writing

Leave a Reply

